[Guide] How to install Waydroid on the JingPad A1

JingPad Waydroid Installation Guide

Before you start go read the guide to set up ssh. Trust me, that is the best way to do this. If you don’t have a pc or laptop be sure to scale the terminal as mentioned below.

This is what worked for me. I installed BEFORE the update from Jing. I am not a developer and won’t be able to troubleshoot for you. You can find plenty of help in the Waydroid Telegram group.

Waydroid runs great, once you get it set up. So far it has worked with most of the Android apps I need. Gapps is included in the install, however you need to turn it on if you want to use google play services…I don’t.

JingPad is missing software you will need. If you run a command (such as nano ) and get “command not found” run sudo apt install (package name—ie.nano) then run your command again.

This will be a lot of command line work. If you have trouble reading the terminal ( it was almost unreadable for me ) Change the scaling to 1.5, 1.75, or 2 using this guide: [Guide] App UI scaling (Manual procedure)

If you get a certificate error:

wget http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/c/ca-certificates/ca-certificates_20210119~20.04.2_all.deb

And install them:

sudo dpkg -i ca-certificates_20210119~20.04.2_all.deb

You will need the following packages installed via sudo apt:

sudo apt install python python3 python3-dev libgbinder-dev libglibutil-dev libglib2.0-dev pkgconf cython3 libandroid-properties1 libhybris-utils xclip

Run this command to install pip:

sudo apt install python3-pip

Check lxc version:

lxc-info - -version

If it’s not there (4.0.2 ir above) please install it:

sudo apt install lxcfs

You will need to create this file using:

sudo nano /etc/gbinder.d/bonder.conf

This will open nano and you can copy/paste :

[Protocol]
/dev/bonder = aidl2
/dev/vndbonder = aidl2
/dev/hwbonder = hidl

[ServiceManager]
/dev/bonder = aidl2
/dev/vndbonder = aidl2
/dev/hwbonder = hidl