Preserve creation date = birth time for file and folder

Hello developers,

I used JingOS for the first time and my first real Linux.

The problem when I tested the default file manager on JingOS (v0.6). Can’t preserve it at all creation date for folders and files when copying. It automatically sets to current system time. I have not found any function to change this behavior.

For comparison I tested macOS 11 and iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 devices, so Unix like systems.

I have been using macOS for more than 20 years and iOS/iPadOS devices for about 2 years and can generally preserve creation time for files and folders with the default file manager.

A screenshot of Finder on macOS.

You see in this case a folder

• Created: Friday, 9 August 2019 at 11:30 PM
  • Modified: Friday, 9 August 2019 at 11:30 PM

If I copy this folder + files in the same folder to my external backup hard drive, Created date and Modified date remain the same for the copied folders and files. A logical behavior. The same works on iOS and iPadOS.

When I do the same task with JingOS using the default file manager it does not work. An example I have a folder with this timestamp

• Created: Friday, 9 August 2019 at 11:30 PM
  • Modified: Frida, 9 August 2019 at 11:30 PM

-> copy folder (+ files in folder) to my external backup hard drive

=

• Created: Thursday, 18 February 2021 at 11:30 PM
  • Modified: Friday, 9 August 2019 at 11:30 PM

What happened? JingOS has set my copied folder and files only for Created date to current system time, which means it no longer has the same Created date as the source. This is exactly the behavior I don’t like and one of the main reasons why I don’t use JingOS everyday.

What about Android? I also have an Android 11 device for comparison, Android only supports Modified date. So Created Date is not supported from Android system. This is also the main reason why I use iOS/iPadOS devices for file management instead of Android devices.